A short visit in Washington…

It seems impossible start to ride before 10.00 am. I have to group all my staff, and fix everything on the TallBike, it always takes more time than my expectations. Because my baggage change at anytime, first depend how many dirty clods I have, but now I have all clean. At this time I knoe my destination: Alphie’s house, a friend of Stephanie who will host me for one night, so it is ok start riding a little bit late. I met her few days ago: Stephanie and me went to Waschingon at her place for a crubs party, they were so delicious!
Direction Washington, it is all street on. The road is nothing special, small scolder, many cars, absolutely boring.
I arrive at Alphie’s place pretty soon. The roommates are nice and interesting people. I cook a vegetable pasta for everybody, and all like it, apparently. We speck a lot about differents cultures and opinions. Is good to be here.
A confortable couch for the night.

I woke up very relaxed, drink coffee and I wait to meet Stephanie again to visit a little bit Washington together. She is by bicycle too and start to ride downtown. Of course I want to take a picture of the White House, the Washington Monument is always at background. We talk a little bit with an old women camping for years in front of there. Protesting and suggesting people and visitors to peace messages of peace.
Then we visit the World War II Memorial and the Lincoln memorial statue. I feel an ordinary tourist, but sometimes people want to have a picture of me on top of the TallBike; I feel an attraction too!
We have to run at the Union Station. I’m holding Stephanie. It takes long time to disassemble the bicycle: wheels, handlebars and the sit, all framed in my bike bag. All the people at the baggage check wants to help me. But at the end I do it by myself just in time to eat something and catch the train to Chicago.

  

This entry was posted in Travel Report.... Bookmark the permalink.